# BOARD OF TRUSTEES PUBLIC LIBRARY ASSOCIATION OF ANNAPOLIS AND ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, INC.

# Library Headquarters, 5 Harry S. Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD Via Zoom, 4:00 p.m., Thursday, May 20, 2021

#### **Meeting Minutes**

Mr. William A. Shorter Jr., Chairman, presiding.

### **Trustees attending:**

Ms. Tonya Baroudi
Ms. Joan Beck
Ms. Joyce Miller
Ms. Cathy Belcher
Mr. Donald Roland
Mr. Joseph E. Bles
Ms. Simmona Simmons
Ms. Dalix Cruz
Ms. Sandra Solomon
Ms. Laura J. Ellis
Mr. Gerald Starr
Mr. James Estepp

#### Trustees Unable to Attend:

Ms. Leslie A Anderson, Ms. Penny Evans, Dr. Robert Sapp, Ms. JanElaine Smith and Ms. Brooke Toomey

#### **Staff Attending**

Mr. Skip Auld, Chief Executive Officer

Ms. Donna Denny, Executive Assistant

Ms. Christina Feldman, Director, Marketing & Communications

Mr. Cedric Grant, Chief Financial Officer

Ms. Cathy Hollerbach, Chief, Public Services & Branch Management

Mr. Rudy Rodela, Chief, Support Services

Mr. Koven Roundtree, Chief, Human Resources

Ms. Cathleen Sparrow, Executive Director, AACPL Foundation

Guests: Ms. Pamela Nason, Client Advocate with BoardEffect; Ms. Gabriella Norton, Librarian I and Ms. Ruth Goodlaxson, Library Associate, ANN staff and virtual meeting tech support.

### Call to Order

Mr. Shorter called the meeting to order at 4:07 p.m. He introduced himself and confirmed a quorum of members were present. He noted that the current regular meeting would be followed by virtual meetings of each of the three new board committees: Governance, Strategy, and Organization; Human Resources and Diversity; and Finance and Audit. Approval of Agenda

AACPL Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes May 20, 2021 Page 2 of 4

Mr. Shorter asked for a motion to approve the meeting agenda. Ms. Beck moved to approve the agenda. Ms. Solomon seconded the motion and the agenda was approved.

# Approval of Meeting Minutes

Mr. Shorter asked for approval of the minutes of the April 15, 2021 meeting. Ms. Miller moved to approve the minutes. Ms. Maxwell seconded the motion and the meeting minutes were approved.

#### **New Business**

Introducing New Board Portal (BoardEffect)

Mr. Rodela introduced Ms. Pamela Nason to provide a brief online presentation about BoardEffect, a new technology platform to enable the board and library leadership to electronically access meeting materials and information.

Ms. Nason said it was an important decision for AACPL to provide BoardEffect to its governing leadership and it will result in better collaboration and efficiency.

The presentation was online using slides to provide an introduction to BoardEffect. The instructions for using the software on a web platform or a mobile device app are here:

file:///C:/Users/ddenny/Downloads/BoardEffect%20Web%20Orientation AACPL%20(4).pdf

file:///C:/Users/ddenny/Downloads/BoardEffect%20App%20Orientation\_AACPL%20(1).pdf

Ms. Nason answered questions after her presentation and Mr. Rodela thanked her. Ms. Nason encouraged anyone with additional questions to contact Mr. Rodela, Ms. Denny or the BoardEffect Support Team by phone at 800-961-6429 or via email <a href="mailto:support@boardeffect.com">support@boardeffect.com</a>

Mr. Shorter said two business items on the agenda had been referred to the Finance and Audit Committee to review: Notification of Purchases Exceeding \$50,000 and MOTION to Approve Purchases Exceeding \$75,000.

Strategy, and Organization Committee Report - Nomination of Officers and Directors

Mr. Shorter provided the report for Ms. Smith and said nominations for the officers and directors for Fiscal Year 2022 are open until the June meeting and are currently as follows:

Officer and Director Terms (1 year terms)

Chair Mr. William A. Shorter, Jr.

First Vice-Chair Ms. Joyce Miller

AACPL Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes May 20, 2021 Page 3 of 4

Second Vice-Chair
Treasurer

J. Robert Sapp, III, E.D.
Ms. Barbara Maxwell

Secretary Ms. Laura Ellis

Directors: Mr. James Estepp - term expires 2024

Ms. Penny Evans - term expires 2022

Ms. Simmona Simmons - term expires 2023

### General Membership Terms (3 ea. 3-year terms)

Trustees whose current membership term expires in 2021 include:

Ms. Tonya Baroudi

Ms. Joyce Miller

Mr. Donald Roland

Ms. JanElaine Smith

Mr. Gerald Starr

Mr. Shorter said that of these, all have agreed to serve another 3-year term, with the exception of Mr. Roland. Mr. Shorter said the board would honor Mr. Roland's request and thanked him for his service and key leadership over the years. Mr. Shorter also thanked those members who had agreed to serve another term.

Mr. Auld noted that Mr. Roland had been on the Board of Library Trustees for six years and was on the AACPL Foundation's board of Directors prior to this. As AACPL Chair, Mr. Roland was instrumental in restructuring board bylaws in 2016, as well as many other accomplishments. Mr. Roland thanked Mr. Auld and the board, and said it had been his pleasure to be of service.

Mr. Auld provided an update on how AACPL continues to work to get back to normal with fewer pandemic complications. Staff are currently encouraging customers to continue to wear masks, but are not policing them. Mr. Auld added that an anonymous poll of staff taken by Mr. Roundtree indicated that 95% had been vaccinated.

Mr. Shorter asked if there were any questions before adjourning the full meeting to break into committee meetings.

Ms. Beck expressed concern about rebranding efforts. Mr. Shorter recommended discussing at another time.

AACPL Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes May 20, 2021 Page 4 of 4

## Closure of Regular Meeting

Ms. Miller moved to adjourn the regular meeting to break into committee meetings. Ms. Solomon seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 4:52 p.m.

The Annual meeting of the Board of Trustees meeting will be held at the Michael E. Busch Annapolis Library, 1410 West Street, at 4:00 p.m., on Thursday, June 17, 2021. After the meeting, from 5:30 to 7:00 p.m., the AACPL Foundation will sponsor an event for the Trustees and Foundation Directors entitled "Cheers to AACPL." The event will include a toast at 6:00 p.m. to celebrate AACPL's newest library and its recent system-wide reopening.

Respectfully submitted,

Laura J. Ellis

Laura J. Ellis Secretary

LJE/dld